5 Biggest Myths about Freshman Year

FIRST OF ALL…

You don’t always meet your “best friends” right away. Your first roommate won’t always be your “soul mate”.

I met so many people in my first semester of college that I got along with right away, and now I couldn’t even tell you their names. I met some of my best friends my freshman year but didn’t get close to them until sophomore year. Those are the people that will be at my wedding and will be in all my college stories that I tell my kids in 20 years. So don’t panic when you can’t find someone that you click with and want to spend a bunch of time with.

Second- A food plan doesn’t mean unlimited food!!

My food plan was about $1,000 and I had to individually purchase meals each day. So once I got to the end of the semester and I realized I had spent $955 already and I had 2 weeks until break, I had $45 to eat with. NOT SMART. Know what your schools food plan is!

Third- Dorms don’t always suck.

Communal showers and bathrooms might be an adjustment, but getting to know people in your hall can be really helpful when you have 3 loads of groceries to carry to the 3rd floor in the middle of winter. And it gives you some other people to binge watch Netflix with when your roommate decides to go workout.

Fourth (and probably most important)- You DON’T have to drink as much alcohol as humanly possible your freshman year.

It might be cool to drink and party with your friends. That doesn’t mean you need to drink everything in site and throw up every night. Learn your limit and don’t let yourself get to crazy. Smartphones are everywhere and your drunk shenanigans can quickly turn into an embarrassing picture that is sent around campus the next day.

Fifth- Most freshman have no idea what they are doing. Don’t be ashamed to ask for a helping hand.

You have advisers and team leaders for a reason. There is always someone who will be more than willing to help answer your questions, help you find your way, or give you some advice. Just ask. We’ve all been there… 2 hours before registration, staring at a list of classes having no idea what the difference between Poly Sci 1 and Human Studies of Poly Sci are. Ask before it’s t0o late.

Leave a Reply

